Travelling the Great Central Road - Phone/<span class="highlight">Internet</span> access?

I'm hoping to travel the Great Central Road from Perth to Uluru in March (then on to Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney) and was wondering what communication methods are available along the route?

Ideally, I would like reliable mobile phone coverage and mobile broadband Internet but am aware that I might need a satelite phone.

What would you recommend? Is there such a thing as satellite Internet access?

Many thanks!

Simon

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:38

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:38
Hi Simonp,
Can only comment on mobile phone coverage on the Great Central Road, you will have it around Laverton then nothing until you get to Ayers Rock, best is on Telstra.

Dennis.

AnswerID: 341814

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:41

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:41
Simon

Mobile phone coverage in Outback Australia will only be within 40km of populated areas such as larger towns. So from Laverton to Uluru there will be no coverage. There will be limited coverage between Uluru and Alice Springs (I think there is coverage at Erldunda RH) and only coverage at Marla, Coober Pedy, Pimba and then from Port Augusta you should have continuous coverage to Melbourne and Sydney.

So if you need to speak with someone whilst travelling outside mobile phone coverage areas you will need to Hire a Satellite phone. You are able to access the internet via these phones but I understand that it is costly.

AnswerID: 341816

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:50

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:50
Simon,

Laverton will be your last mobile coverage and I don't recall there being coverage there 2 years back. It should have 3G tho. From there east you won't have mobile reception until Yulara. There is nothing at Warburton, Warakurna or Docker. You nay be able to get internet access at Warburton via a shire facility or library but I doubt it. There is such a thing as satellite internet access but the kits are very expensive as are Sat phones. You may well be able to hire a Sat phone as a cost efficient alternative but buying one is prohibitively expensive (Don't touch Globalstar-Pivotel).

After you hit he Stuart Hwy south, You'll have reception at Coober Pedy and then good Coverage from Port Augusta onwards. You may wish to consider a 3G internet connection but it's only good for the more populated areas where mobile coverage exists.

The GCR is a fairly pedestrian route these days travelled by a good deal of people and usually maintained in good order. It can get a bit corrugated at times and rain is the main nemesis. The roughest section by far is the last 200 km from the WA border to Yulara. If you and your care are prepared, do you think the expense of a sat phone is warranted?

AnswerID: 341818

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:50

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 08:50
Hi simonp

Once you start on the Great Central Road you are on your own as far as communications goes apart from the fuel stops or settlements where you can access land line if necessary

Satellite phone or HF radio is the only way you are going to contact the "outside" world. Once you reach Ayres Rock you have mobile coverage but from memory you lose it again as you head East.

there is satellite internet access but at a cost.

It can be an interesting and enjoyable drive but can range from a breeze to some difficulty depending upon the weather and current state of the roads.

Not a sensible journey to undertake without some form of communication and a well prepared vehicle....and telling people of your movements..........having said that if you saw what the "locals" travel in and the way they are not prepared you would be staggered who gets away with what at times ..but then every now and again you read about them in the paper

plan well, go prepared and be aware of the weather / temperature in March......

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 341819

Reply By: simonp - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:13

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:13
Thanks folks,

I'll do some more research on sat phones with internet access I guess.

Unfortunately, although I will be on holiday, I can never really be too far away from the Internet (for work) :( ho hum!

AnswerID: 341824

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:30

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:30
Try Satphone with internet access
FollowupID: 609488

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:42

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:42
Yes but at $12 a day it mounts up if you are away for 6 months or so.
I bought a s/hand under 2yr old 9505A with all the bits for $950 and will keep it for emergencies and hope to sell it for close to that when we finish our trip.
Thats the cost of hire for 80 days so think its a more sensible option for a longer trip.

FollowupID: 609566

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 19:24

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 19:24
Graeme, most people can't afford the luxury of 6 month trips.
If you can then yes a decent 9595a from Ebay would be the go. New batteries, however , are verry exe, along with anything else that needs replacing. A crook battery and aerial would quickly see you almost double your purchase price.
For the average traveller, it is a relatively cheap option, especially if you have a Telstra sim.

BTW try and hire anything for that length of time. Not cheap.
FollowupID: 609570

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:48

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:48
Lucky me then am off for most of next year having retired last week.
Batteries and aerials have been available on Ebay as a package for around $265 for a 9505A

FollowupID: 609590

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 07:00

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 07:00
Just a single battery for the 9505A will cost you more than that locally. New of course.
FollowupID: 609602

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 09:35

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 09:35
These were supposedly new from somewhere in Indonesia.

I didnt bid but they looked like a full pack from a phone that perhaps had been stolen or whatever Seemed strange but things happen
FollowupID: 609612

Reply By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:34

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:34
Hope you don't mind if I jump on the tail end of this post. I'm going on a trip myself, in a few months. Maybe I can get some help that may also be useful to Simon.

My daughter-in-law has a wireless modem. She can use it on the desktop computer or else on the lap top.

As I understand her, she can use it with the lap top anywhere. I understand it works with satellite signals, not tower signals.

However, if I've got it wrong and it works off the tower, it may still be suitable for my travels.

It may be that she has it subsidized because they live a bit out of town.

Any knowledge of these things?

Laurie.
AnswerID: 341834

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:43

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 09:43
Who is her internet provider.

It could be either type but without more info is impossible to give an answer.
I am using a USB wireless modem but it is connected to Telstra via the Next(3) G network via the mobile towers.

Satellite internet requires a dish like Foxtel has or did when I used it in NZ for a while.
I read that in the bush you can get a subsidy but you also get $100 or so a year off uncle Kevvie if you are on a pension.
Maybe this is what she is on??????

FollowupID: 609490

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:00

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:00
No. No dish on the roof so it must work on 3G. Limited to towers and populated areas, I guess.

Would there be service around the fuel stops and caravan parks across the Nullabor?

I'd like to regularly update my Wilderness Travel blog on the trip.

So would a wireless modem be cost effective? I suppose I'd need a new broadband account.

Laurie.
FollowupID: 609493

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:30

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 10:30
Laurie,

If you have a wireless set up on your computer, you should be able to utilise wireless hotspots in larger towns as you pass through (McDonalds usually have it). Most smaller communities have an internet facility somewhere for use by the public (usually a library, shire or community office) under the previous governments internet policy. Just a matter of asking when you get there. Your 3G connection is only as good as the mobile access.

FollowupID: 609498

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:25

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 11:25
Ah yes, I think I've got you.

My wife's laptop has a wireless connection that accesses the wireless modem on the desktop computer. McDonalds give the same (free?) service.

Funny thing: My daughter-in-law, before she got her wireless modem, would bring out her laptop at our place and get on the net. She didn't have my password, so I suppose she was using my neighbor's account; not secured.

My wife has a 3G phone, so I suppose it can be used as a modem. Fairly pricey?
FollowupID: 609507

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:51

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:51
Unless u have encryption set up on your computer anyone can access your wireless network.
Unless you mean your encryption password.
As long as its connected anyone can use an open network, and they frequently do.

FollowupID: 609518

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:09

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:09
Yes, encryption password is what I meant. I'm secure but my neighbor isn't.
FollowupID: 609563

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 23:04

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 23:04
"As I understand her, she can use it with the lap top anywhere. I understand it works with satellite signals, not tower signals. "

- I'm amazed at the con-job that some salesmen will resort to, to make a sale.
FollowupID: 609592

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 18:02

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 18:02
Yes, with our NextG modem, a city friend chided us for not replying to her emails quickly - and when i said 'but don't forget we were out of range for from two to four weeks at a time' she replied - 'but i thought you got that new coverage that worked everywhere'. She must have been listening to the Telstra call centre staff who won't believe you when you tell them that 99% means of the population not the area of Australia.

FollowupID: 609687

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 12:57

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 12:57
We have the capability of 2 way internet access via our Globalstar sat phone, but it is VERY slow (slower than dial up) and costs $1 per minute.
A satelite telephone call is cheaper and more effective, and incoming calls are free for us and the same cost as any other mobile phone for the caller.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 341851

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:59

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:59
Interesting!!!!
On the Iridium network the satfone user pays for both outward AND iNWARD calls The caller pays to connect to the mobile network at that rate and the satfone user pays the inward charge of the diversion to the Iridium phone.
The advantage of course is that the Iridium network is better and more reliable than Globals**t

At about $3 a minute I dont think I would be using a satfone for internet access

FollowupID: 609519

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:07

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:07
Graham I'm not sure what Iridium network you are on??

I use Telstra/Iridium and I just pay for outward calls and if someone rings me they pay the call rate as charged by their service provider for calling a Sat phone.
Generally international call rates.

FollowupID: 609521

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:28

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:28
Well I have a Motorola 9505 and will use my Telstra sim card in it.

As for charges I am going on what has been said on this forum and that was that the caller pays the normal mobile fee to your cellfone number and you pay the Iridium part of it when it is diverted to your satfone.

I have only made test calls to and from different phones without answering so as not to incur needless charges.

Doubtless someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

I wont mind if i am as it will mean cheaper usage.
FollowupID: 609534

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 23:07

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 23:07
"On the Iridium network the satfone user pays for both outward AND iNWARD calls "

- ONLY if you are using a Telstra Mobilenet SIMcard in a Motorola Satphone.

If you have a satellite contract with monthly fees on the Iridium network from Iridium, Telstra or other resellers, there is no charge for incoming calls.
FollowupID: 609593

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 09:38

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 09:38
Thank u Mike Thats what I am doing so I am both right and wrong I guess

FollowupID: 609614

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:47

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 13:47
to Bega Photographer

u could do as I have done and buy a USB 3G modem ($199) from Telstra and go on a Casual Data Pack.
This gives u 1 gig for $59 5gig for $89 and on and up

It also allows you to reduce it to $5 a month if you were back home and didnt really need it for a while.
This is much cheaper than using your mobile as a modem and more variable as well.
This I found is by far the cheapest way of doing it and I looked at ALL options.

AnswerID: 341853

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 13:17

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 13:17
Thanks Graham.

Sounds like a good way to go. I'll look into this.
FollowupID: 609646

Reply By: NigeB - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:16

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:16
Hi - Check telstra website for next G coverage map - not a lot the route you are going.
Good Luck
AnswerID: 341855

Reply By: blue one - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:56

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 14:56
The Missus and I were just settling with a fire and quite drink when two techs appeared on foot over the dune from the air strip at Old Andado. Their lift had left them there as the pilot was not certified for night flying. We were surprised that they were left with only half a litre of water each.

They were to be picked up and taken to a drill site 3 hrs east. As they had been waiting for over 4 hours for their lift, I got on the HF radio and phoned their boss in Perth via Radtel. The tech gave him the rounds of the kitchen that their lift was not there to greet them. Anyway two calls later another vehicle was sent out. It arrived at speed 3 hours later, in where the driver got out with a sat phone called it everything under the sun and threw it into the back of the ute. Neither his or the other driver who turned the wrong way sat phone worked due to no signal. The station manager's missus from Andado turned up with a station hand as the boss in Perth phoned them thinking both stations were the same. She was very interested in the HF as they experienced the same drop outs with their Sat phones.

I have always been able to contact either by HF radio or Radtel anyone I want to talk to when ever I want. Sometimes the signal is not great but you always get through.

I don't have much experience with a sat phone as being the cheap skate I am I have only used the HF as it is more economical.

AnswerID: 341861

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:10

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 15:10
Did u ask what network they were using. Sounds like Globals**t

FollowupID: 609530

Follow Up By: blue one - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:37

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:37
Nah, at the rate he threw it into the ute tray it kinda summed up his opinion and the conversation was closed.

FollowupID: 609547

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:10

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:10
Blue

I have an old Motorola 9500 Satphone Iridium through Telstra. In 5 years it hasn't let me down but maybe once or twice the signal has dropped out. Have even used it overseas. Costs aren't that much these days around $2 a minute and access is still $30pm

I had an old HF for 25 years but sold it recently. I had no use for it as I didn't 'listen in' at chatter time....lol

FollowupID: 609551

Follow Up By: blue one - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 20:55

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 20:55
Willem,
As I said "I don't have much experience with a sat phone as being the cheap skate I am I have only used the HF as it is more economical."

I use Radtel for work where there is no mobile access.

I wouldn't know an Iridium from a cosmopolitan.

Just steped up to an NGT though.

FollowupID: 609576

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:26

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:26

So you are coming up in the world! ...LOL

Cheapskates don't buy NGT's. Thats top of the range stuff.

NGT $4000 lightweight phonebills
Satphone $2000 heavyweight phone bills

Sort of balances out in the long run :-)

FollowupID: 609585

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:51

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 22:51
Ebay again Got an ex demo NGT and a 9350 vers D autotune for $2600

Fitted it myself

FollowupID: 609591

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 05:31

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 05:31
Yep had a 3rd hand 9323 & 9350 for years and I was constantly impressed with it's performance.

Came into a little bit of money and lashed out for my birthday.

The NGT is a better set so I reckon I'll be right.

FollowupID: 609600

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:32

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:32
Simon

Bigpond wireless broadband coverage make that next G coverage

you can check it out at Bigpond.com

AnswerID: 341866

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:53

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:53
Sorry Richard. Doubled up there....

FollowupID: 609550

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 11:02

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 11:02
And if you actually believe the coverage map you must believe that pink pigs fly ,,, the map shows areas that have very marginal coverage , IE: Boulia , go any more than 15/20 klm out of town and you,ve got nothing.
FollowupID: 609623

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 12:28

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 12:28
Not all NextG phones are equal.

The coverage map is based on having a good phone (Blue Tick ) and aerial.

I've compared coverage shown on this map with actual coverage from my Samsung A411 and found they agree very closely.

FollowupID: 609634

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 13:39

Wednesday, Dec 31, 2008 at 13:39
Axel

I'v seen a pig fly,

FollowupID: 609649

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:52

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 16:52
Here is Telstras NextG coverage, either mobile or wireless internet. If you are not in the brown bits there is zip.
If you are in light brown, you may need an external antennae.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 341870

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:25

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 17:25
get a satellite dish with a internet setup and use skype.
there is a new mob advertising in the Wanderer (forgot the name). I had a chat to the owner a few weeks ago and it sounds ok. they require a 90cm (or was it 105cm .. sorry forgot) and the whole system inclucing modem retails at $3200 now. plans are cheaper than bigpond.. 49$ a month will give you decent download. They also offer higher speed and custom connections. I do not recall all the details but it is the way to go for me when I go bush and want the connection .. not sure about that though :)) .. at the moment I use that pathetic big pond USB modem with 1.5MB/512MB plan and use it for the convenience (no dish setup) .. at $105 a month the download volume is pathetic and I do hope that sooner or later we get some decent competition to blow this pathetic mob (Telstra that is) out of the water.

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 341871

Reply By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:06

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:06
Thanks Fellas. That's all great info for me and no doubt for Simon also.
AnswerID: 341876

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:36

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:36
The setup costs for that prohibit the use unless you are going to use it verrrrrry long term.
Likewise Bigpond Their contracts are 24 or 36 months and are not variable.
Like I said the TELSTRA CASUAL DATA PACK is variable in that should u come home for a couple of months you can cut it back to $5 a month then when u go travelling put it back up to whatever you want.
Also it is a 12 month plan
I went thru this very carefully before taking this option so am fairly sure of my facts.
AnswerID: 341879

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:52

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 18:52
Forgot to say that for the phone I use Mynetfone voip service for my phone as I live in my van at the moment.

I bought a cordless Voip phone off Ebay for $60 and for $99 I get a years free calls to ordinary numbers anywhere in Australia UNTIMED.
Is better than Skype although we use that as well to talk to rellys in NZ who also have it on the net.
However Mynetphones international rates are only 3.5c a minute to NZ.
Much cheaper than Sol the ripoff merchant.

Lots of cheap services if you look around.
FollowupID: 609568

Reply By: simonp - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 19:51

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 19:51
Thanks everyone for your valuable feedback. I've definately stumbled upon a great forum here ;)

I'm planning to be in Australia for just under a month but less than a week will be in the 'outback' so hiring will be much wiser than buying I feel.

It's also quite obvious that mobile broadband/3G will be neither use nor ornament along the Great Central Road!

Will keep researching.
AnswerID: 341888

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 23:20

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2008 at 23:20
Simon, as said, nothing between Laverton and Yulara (the strongest NextG signal of anywhere). No reception at all at King's Canyon Resort.

We travelled with NextG mobile internet, and used it when we stayed in a reception area. Family at home knew roughly where we were travelling, and we made contact when we had goodinternet cover.

When looking at the Telstra coverage map (there is also a similar map for GSM cover), a lot of the dots in the remote areas are at Aboriginal communities that are generally not accessed by the travelling public.

We paid $2,000 for the sat phone, just as insurance in case of emergencies - and the insurance worked. We were not eligible for the Govt subsidy, which needs to be pre-arranged and can take some time. Like a home phone, the higher monthly fee paid the lower the call costs - we chose $30 per month and higher call costs. When we did have a potential breakdown, just knowing that we had the sat phone saved a lot of stress. The cost of hiring was not viable for a period of months. We purchased the phone and on return home 'suspended' the monthly payments. We purchased it on this condition, and on our return, Telstra said they don't do this, but acknowledged we had been told we could suspend. A few phone calls to the same person and they agreed. We will see what happens when we ask to activate it next holiday, then suspend again.

AnswerID: 341910

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Jan 01, 2009 at 08:02

Thursday, Jan 01, 2009 at 08:02
Simon

Apparently, from what I have been told, you can get a signal from the top Ayres Rock ( Uluru ), apart from that, just try turning your mobile on, at each town or settlement.

You may get a surprise and it will work. !

If you are in the middle of nowhere, and you get a signal, then chances are that there is a nearby mine, that have hooked up a mobile network..

Not too sure if there will be internet access at all Settlements, but just ask ?

AnswerID: 342055

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jan 01, 2009 at 13:53

Thursday, Jan 01, 2009 at 13:53
Yulara Tourist Village has NextG base that provide coverage up to 15km out if you use a good antenna.

It's the cell shown on the national maps above at the bottom left of the Northern Territory.

You have to enter "yulara tourist village" to find it in this website -

http://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/networks/coverage/maps.cfm
FollowupID: 609773